Beyond the Renaissance

PLEASE NOTE: Due to unforeseen circumstances, we need to change the location of the Sunday, February 11 concert. THE NEW LOCATION IS CENTRAL PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, 1660 N. Sherman St. in Denver. See this page for venue information. There is no change to the ticket cost – you may continue to purchase tickets to Sunday’s concert through the existing link. Thank you for your understanding!

Join us in February as we present a rare opportunity to hear one of the great Renaissance works in 40 parts: Thomas Tallis’ monumental masterpiece, Spem in alium. With the delicacy and strength of a soaring cathedral vault, this masterwork of vocal polyphony weaves beautiful melodies together, balancing form and expression in a sparkling demonstration of musical genius. Tallis pushed the boundaries of convention by bringing new life to old techniques, creating a unique musical experience that transcends time. A captivating interplay of voices emerges from different parts of the room, creating an original “surround sound” experience.

The transformative journey of this program moves beyond the Renaissance and culminates in the majestic splendor of Rheinberger’s Mass in E-flat major for double chorus.

“Rebirth” is a celebration of exceptional vocal artistry, historical significance, and profound musical exploration—a testament to the timeless beauty and innovative spirit that define Ars Nova Singers’ art.

“Very fine…a richly reverberant world of sound…” – The Choral Review

“[Ars Nova Singers]…enveloped the audience in a wash of celestial sounds.” – The Denver Post

Download the Digital Concert Program here.


Thomas Tallis, Loquebantur
Tallis, Lamentations of Jeremiah, set I

II – Two Musical Puzzles from Cantiones sacrae (1575)
Tallis, Miserere nostri
William Byrd, Diliges Dominum

III – Music from a Royal Wedding (Florence 1589)
Emilio de’ Cavalieri, O che nuovo miracolo

Thomas Tallis, Spem in alium – motet for 40 voices

<< intermission >>

Henry Purcell, If Music Be The Food of Love – Szilvia Schranz, soprano
Henry Purcell, Hear My Prayer, O Lord

Josef Rheinberger, Mass in Eb for double chorus