After a difficult winter, Ars Nova Singers welcomes the fragile spring with a program that honors the uncertainty of our shared experiences and the trust we place in one another. We open with sinuous works by Indian-American composer Reena Esmail, riffing on the seemingly unordered yet hauntingly beautiful sounds of traditional Hindustani raga. Raga (or raag), melodic frameworks in traditional Indian classical music which offer endless improvisation, rely on trust—between musician, listener, and space. They are a framework, not a mandate, much like the quivering faith of Gabriel Fauré’s beloved Requiem.

The Requiem, Fauré’s sublime and consoling masterpiece, will be presented in John Rutter’s edition of the composer’s original form, with a small chamber orchestra and guest alumni singers.

Featured instrumental soloists are Matthew Dane, viola, and Christina Jennings, flute. Also on the program are Fauré’s Pavane, orchestrated by Thomas Edward Morgan, and Brahms’ Abendständchen from Drei Gesänge, Op. 42.

  • Music of Reena Esmail
    TaReKiTa (2016)
    When The Violin (2018)
    She Will Transform You (2020)
    Nadiya (2016)
  • Abendständchen (from Drei Gesänge, Op. 42) – Johannes Brahms
  • Pavane, op. 50 – Gabriel Fauré
  • Requiem, op. 48 (1893 version) – Gabriel Fauré
    I. Introit et Kyrie
    II. Offertory
    III. Sanctus
    IV. Pie Jesu
    V. Agnus Dei
    VI. Libera Me
    VII. In Paradisium

Click here to access the digital concert program (PDF).