In our final program of the season, we turn to a longtime friend—the brilliant guitarist Nicolò Spera—to help us premiere a brand new work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Christopher Theofanidis titled Door Out of the Fire. Often celebrated for his colorful, inventive, and magnetic compositions, Theofanidis turns his musical spotlight in a new direction, applying all the communicative power of one obsessed with the world’s sonic texture to a dark and deepening reality: earth’s changing climate.

The program also includes Ildebrando Pizzetti’s glorious Requiem, presented on the 100th anniversary of its composition. The Requiem for double choir begins with Gregorian plainchant, and includes references to 15th- and 16th-century Renaissance polyphony including Venetian multiple choruses. Stark melodies and two-part textures suddenly blossom into glowingly radiant complex harmonies.

Special Guests: Nicolò Spera, guitar and Abigail Nims, mezzo-soprano

Friday, June 3, 2022
St. Paul Community of Faith, Denver
1600 Grant St., Denver, CO 80203
(Map It!)

Saturday, June 4, 2022
First United Methodist Church, Boulder
1421 Spruce St., Boulder, CO 80302
(Map It!)

Sunday, June 5, 2022
Stewart Auditorium, Longmont
400 Quail Rd., Longmont, CO 80501
(Map It!)