A true celebration of Democracy, Together/Apart: Awake with Heart, featured works by composers of color and brought our singers (safely) back together for the first time since March. This virtual hybrid of live and recorded performance saw singers separated in space, but not in sound or spirit. You can still enjoy the performance in its entirety below!

  • The Star-Spangled Banner – arr. Marques L. A. Garrett
  • I Would Live in Your Love – Nathan Jones
  • Song (I gaze upon you) – Gabriel Jackson
  • Light without a visible source – George Lynn
  • Envoy (from Colorado Ballads) – George Lynn
  • O Earth, O Earth, Return – Bill Douglas
  • Bitter for Sweet – John Chorbajian
  • Again (after ecclesiastes) – David Lang
  • Sanctus – Carlos Simon
  • We Shall Walk Through the Valley Spiritual – arr. Undine Smith Moore
  • Thomas Jefferson’s “View of Congress” – George Lynn
  • Advance Democracy – Benjamin Britten